Learning & Training = Winning :)

Published January 16, 2012 by hardass83

Hello all!

Been a little while since my last post, but lots has been done!

Today, pre-season for 12wbt kicked off.  I have just completed my first task which was a simple ‘introduce yourself’.  For those of you following but not playing along, I have copied and pasted my introduction below:

Hello all!!

I’m Joanne or Jo if you like!

I’m from Brisbane north, 28, married with an 8 month old daughter.

I’m a solicitor for a large insurance firm in Brisbane, & am shortly due to return to work from my leisure days on maternity leave!

I decided to join the 12wbt family as I need something to keep me focused. I’ve done the gym thing for a long time and love it. Unfortunately, when I was pregnant it was free for all!! All types of disgusting food made it to my mouth (and eventually hips and butt), and I slowly gained weight. However, I recall getting to around 7 months and saying to my husband “I may get out of this pregnancy fairly unscathed; I’ve only gained around 7-10kgs”…yes well my daughter had a late growth spurt, so despite the fact that eating everything and anything had gotten old and I’d started to resume normal eating, I continued to gain weight as bubs grew and grew!

Anyway, after around 18 or so kgs gained its time to shift the baby weight and then some!

I am sick of people saying to me “but you’ve just had a baby”…umm no, that was 8 months ago now, no more excuses!

So, along came 2012 and out went the crap! I’ve been eating clean since the 1st Jan and feel great. Training like mad also. Have lost around 3.5kgs so far and aiming for 15kg all up (however looks like I will revise this before kick off!).

So thats me. I also have a blog I will be updating as the journey continues, www.hardass83.wordpress.com if you would like to follow.

Ok so task done, & the next to be released on Thurs.

So the last 2 wks have been a learning curve for myself and my husband.  We discovered the true caloric value of lots of foods and often found ourselves in disbelief.  Who would’ve thought a whole carrot has 56 calories?? Well not me.  My attitude was always “its fruit or veg, of course its ok”, which generally is true; obviously if your tossing up between chips or chocolate and the carrot, then go the carrot hands down!!

A very large and costly learning curve for me this wk has been the treat meal.  During our program, we’re allowed a treat meal on Saturday nights.  Whilst it IS considered a treat, you must still account for it in your daily 1200 calorie allowance. 

So, I was out and about with my daughter and on the way home I stopped into the 7/11 to pick up a weiss bar for hubby and I.  My hands were full, what with carrying Ellie (who’s approx 10kg), keys, wallet, and the 2 icecreams (which I had checked the calories on them and they were around 150ish), the old me returned and I grabbed one of those small packets of lollies they have at the counters at servos…you know the ones, they are about 150g and cost about $2.  Anyway, I picked it up, scanned the calories VERY briefly and bought them.  Munching on them in the car, sort of enjoying them, I got home and went to enter it into MFP….OH MY LORD!!! I had had a miscalculation! A HUGE one!…that packet of lollies apparently had 4 SERVES in it…WTF right?? who in their bleeding mind would get 4 serves out of it?? Anyway, I accepted that until I saw how many calories I had consumed…wait for it….652!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yep, that little tiny bag of lollies cost me 652 calories!!!!  All I can say is I was grossly sick afterwards and I guess lucky I hadn’t eaten lunch (being out and about) and so I was able to still stay within my 1200 cal limit.

I promise you, I went on and on and on about those calories for at least 2 days, until my husband eventually said, “its done, move on and learn your lesson”…and so I did. 

I still had an awesome loss but now im more informed about what I eat.  So, for that individual I raked over hot coals (nah not really!) for eating her crackling, the above lesson is why…As long as you’re honest about what you have eaten and track it honestly, with no excuses as to why, success will still follow your actions.  Yes its ok to fall off the wagon every now and then; thats what the learning curve is all about!  But I say this…I am now fully aware and will never forget how many cals are in that packet of lollies…..are you??

Till next time folks

xxxx

 

One comment on “Learning & Training = Winning :)

  • Had the same hard look at bread last week. We often use wraps for pizza bases but not any more! There was about 250 cals in the base alone whereas 2 slices of bread was about 180 cal…..and we thought using wraps were good. Just wonderful!

  • Leave a comment